My Letter to You

Dear Blessed of the Lord,

Well, it’s hard to believe, but here we are in 2011!  It’s a brand new year with brand new opportunities to serve the Lord Jesus Christ.  I’m so thankful to know that God is still in control, and He is still sovereign over all things.  He’s a God who never changes, and He’s a God who loves his children so much, that He gave His only begotten Son to be sacrificed on the cross of Calvary in order that we might have eternal life.  What a joy it is to know that God has made a way for us to be saved, and He will keep every promise that He has made in his Holy Bible.

Many of you have been praying long and hard for God to move in your lives and in the lives of your loved ones.  Whatever you do, DO NOT give up hope in 2011.  This could be the very year that your lost family member (husband, wife, mom, dad, sister, brother, or child) exercises faith in the Lord Jesus Christ and becomes saved by His matchless grace.  Keep on praying in 2011, for I believe God to be true and faithful, and I believe He is fully able to work miracles in the lives of many.  He can work where no man can hinder, and open doors that no man can shut.  I want to encourage you to look to the God of our salvation, and rest your confidence completely in Him.

January is going to be a busy month for The Free Gift Gospel Mission.  We will be having our January Jubilee on January 27-29.  This will be a 3 night meeting packed with preaching, singing, and wonderful fellowship in the Lord.  I want to tell you a little bit about how this Jubilee came to be.  It was Sunday morning, January 2, and ol’ Satan was trying to get me discouraged, when the Lord began to intervene.  He came with that still small voice and began to reassure me that He was still there.  Then I began to feel impressed to have a special meeting.  I had already been praying for our church and our congregation.  I had already been seeking the Lord’s direction and guidance.  It was then the Lord  began to work and move. 

You see, we always have a special service on the last Saturday night of each month at The Free Gift Gospel Mission, but after seeking the Lord, I began to feel impressed to add a Thursday and Friday night at the end of the month to go with that Saturday night service.  The first person I spoke with was my wife, Melissa.  I told her what I felt impressed to do, and she agreed that we needed to have this Jubilee.  So I immediately picked up the phone and called Bro. Dean Presnell, pastor of True Gospel Baptist Church in Elizabethton, and founder of Moment of Truth Radio Ministries, and asked him if he would be willing to come preach on either the 27th, 28th, or 29th.  He said he would be willing to come any of those nights, so we agreed that he would come on Friday the 28th

I’ve known Bro. Dean Presnell as long as I’ve been saved.  He’s been my mother-in-law’s pastor for many years, and he has always been very supportive of our ministry.  I’ve always told folks everywhere I go that Bro. Dean Presnell is one of the hardest working preachers that I’ve ever met, and he is one of my favorite preachers.  I’ve seen Bro. Dean preach in revivals in different denominations, and he never changes his message to suit anyone.  I’ve seen a lot of preachers that will change their message from one place to the next, just to patronize the crowd.  Bro. Dean doesn’t do that.  He doesn’t change his message for anyone, and I have grown to appreciate that quality in a preacher.

Just a couple of minutes after hanging up with Bro. Dean, I called another one of my favorite preachers, Bro. Mike Owens, pastor of Charity Chapel Baptist Church, and founder of the Time of Gladness Radio Ministry.  Bro. Mike has been such a great blessing and inspiration in my life since the moment I met him, not to mention, he is a wonderful man of God and a gospel preacher.  I told Bro. Mike what was going on, and he gladly agreed to come and preach on Thursday, January 27th.  So far it was such a blessing to see how the Lord was bringing this meeting together.  It was very obvious to me that He had His mighty hand on this whole plan from the beginning. 

This will be Bro. Mike’s first preaching engagement at The Free Gift Gospel Mission, and it’s been a long time coming.  Bro. Mike truly has a compassionate heart, a love for God’s people, and a desire to serve in any capacity possible.  He has proven to be a servant of the Lord in the many ways he has helped us at The Free Gift Gospel Mission, and the many words of encouragement he has offered through the years.  Bro. Mike Owens is someone that I know I can call for advice, or just whenever I need a fellow Christian soldier to speak with.  He’s been there for me, and I know he will be a blessing to all who attend on Thursday, January 27th.

Now with 2 of the 3 nights of preaching accounted for, I needed to find someone to preach on Saturday night, January 29th.  I prayed and thought about various different preachers, but could never get a peace about calling them for this particular night.  I spent the next two days, further seeking the Lord and praying.  Then finally God brought a preacher to my heart and mind.  I remembered hearing Bro. David Lyles in a revival about a year earlier at Freedom Fellowship Church in Elizabethton.  Melissa sang the same night Bro. David preached in that meeting, and it was a Holy Ghost service.  I remember Bro. David’s down-to-earth simple man demeanor, and the powerful word he preached.  I knew that he was the one I should call……..but I didn’t know how to get in touch with him.  I didn’t have his phone number or anything.  Well, we finally managed to call some friends who attend that particular church, and they were able to give us Bro. David’s phone number.  I called Bro. David (who lives just outside of Lansing, North Carolina), and he said he’d be glad to come and preach.  We almost had revival break loose over the phone. 

With this line-up of gospel preachers, I am convinced that God will be blessing and moving as only He can in The January Jubilee.  I don’t pretend to know everything that God has in store, but I do believe that the Lord will give us a much needed lift of encouragement during this 3-night meeting.  I’m looking forward to a tremendous blessing, and hoping to see God’s people blessed by the scores, and I’m praying to see souls saved.  So I ask you, my brothers and sisters, to join me in prayer for this meeting.  Please pray for a great moving of God, and a great deliverance to many shackled hearts.  I know God is in this meeting.  He’s been all too real in bringing this about, and words cannot convey the excitement and anticipation I have as we await The January Jubilee. 

With all of that said, I give each of you a humble invitation to come and join us at The Free Gift Gospel Mission for the January Jubilee, the 27th through the 29th.   The services will begin at 7:00P.M. each night with special singing nightly.  Come early expecting God to move, and bring a lost person with you.  All offerings taken will go to support the church building fund which now stands at $13,000. 

Now in other regards, many of you are aware of the fact that I have been attending college since 2004 to become a school teacher.  We’re finally getting down to the wire on this long journey.  I am scheduled to begin my four months of student teaching on Monday, January 10, at Happy Valley Elementary School.  I will be doing two months in Kindergarten, and two months in 2nd grade, and will hopefully graduate in May of this year.  I ask for your prayers during this 4 month period of student teaching.  This 4 month student teaching is necessary in order for me to obtain licensure.  It will be a difficult time because I will be completely and totally without income for the entire four months.  Times were often tight even when I worked 40+ hours per week, and now we won’t even have that.  But friends, you are reading the words of a man who truly believes the words written in Philippians 4:19.  I know, beyond the shadow of any reasonable doubt, that the good Lord WILL provide.  He hasn’t brought us this far to forsake us now.  I know He will see us through.  With the Lord on my side, and with the prayers of my brothers and sisters, Satan will just have to roll over because I’m trusting Jesus Christ for my every need.

I’m going to end this letter now by saying we love you all, and I hope to see each and every one of you at The January Jubilee at the end of the month.  Go ahead and mark it on your calendar now, so you won’t forget and make other plans.  That’s right, grab a pen right now, and make a note.  Don’t give Satan an occasion to cheat you out of a blessing.  We would love for you to come to The Free Gift Gospel Mission for The January Jubilee, or any of our regular services.  If you have questions about directions or anything else, you may call us at (423) 928-4228 or visit us at www.freegiftgospelmission.wordpress.com

Love In Christ,

Pastor Vern Hall

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

