A Big Surprise

It was an interesting weekend for this ol’ boy.  I’ll be turning the big 4-0 in a few days, so some people from the church got together and decided to throw me a surprise birthday party.  I was truly unaware that anything was up until I met up with Bro. Earl Hulse to go on “visitation” Saturday morning.  He told me to just “park my truck at Blessed Hope (Baptist Church)” because it would be safe there.  As I followed him over to Blessed Hope the whole thing seemed a little suspicious, and I remembered how Melissa had left early that morning.  To make a long story short, Bro. Earl led me into the fellowship hall of Blessed Hope BC where a bunch of hooligans jumped out on me.  At least one thing Bro. Earl told me was true:  we were going to see a “rough bunch” of people.  Ha!  Ha!

The blessings continued yesterday at church as both services brought forth people who gave me gifts and well wishes and just all-around treated me much better than I deserve to be treated.  Thanks to everyone who helped to make this weekend a memorable one.

Love in Christ,

Pastor Vern

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment